Wednesday, 3 February 2010

A Series of Unfortunate Events...

A Bad Beginning: The 3 siblings, Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire, lead a wonderful life - that is, until the day this book starts; it all goes downhill from here...
The three children are told the terrible news that their parents are dead - they died in a fire which destroyed their entire home. The three Baudelaire children - orphans, now - are sent to live with a distant cousin; Count Olaf. Count Olaf is cruel to the children: he makes them do all the chores and orders them about constantly. But the children begin to realise that Count Olaf and the fire (that killed their parents) are more connected than it may seem. As the orphans work to discover the mystery of their parents' death, their lives are at stake...
Read about Violet, Klaus and Sunny on their hardships to find a home once again.
There's no review for the other 12 books, in case I spoil the end of the first one!
Age group: 8+ (although it involves murder it's nothing too bad, don't worry)
Series: 'A Series of Unfortunate Events' is (hence the name) a series; it involves 13 books: 'A Bad Beginning', 'The Reptile Room', 'The Wide Window',
'The Miserable Mill', 'The Austere Academy', 'The Ersatz Elevator', 'The Vile Village', 'The Hostile Hospital', 'The Carnivorous Carnival', 'The Slippery Slope', 'The Grim Grotto', 'The Penultimate Peril', 'The End'.

Author: Lemony Snicket

No comments:

Post a comment